The Lost Letters

Sarah Mitchell

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship and family secrets in World War Two, set in Norfolk.

The Lost Letters
Sarah Mitchell

£8.99

In stock

Tags: Norwich, Wells

Description

A gripping book club novel about forbidden love, friendship and family secrets in World War Two. Perfect for fans of The Letter by Kathryn Hughes, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

‘I adored this book, devouring it in a couple of days!… A beautiful and moving story that will stay with me for quite a while. Five shiny stars!!’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

What if keeping your loved ones safe meant never seeing them again?

Norfolk, 1940: Sylvia’s husband Howard has gone off to war, and she is struggling to raise her two children alone. Her only solace is her beach hut in Wells-Next-The-Sea, and her friendship with Connie, a woman she meets on the beach. The two women form a bond that will last a lifetime, and Sylvia tells Connie something that no-one else knows: about a secret lover… and a child.

Canada, present day: When Martha’s beloved father dies, he leaves her two things: a mysterious stash of letters to an English woman called ‘Catkins’ and directions to a beach hut in the English seaside town of Wells. Martha is at a painful crossroads in her own life, and seizes this chance for a trip to England – to discover more about her family’s past, and the identity of her father’s secret correspondent.

The tragedy of war brought heartbreaking choices for Sylvia. And a promise made between her and Connie has echoed down the years. For Martha, if she uncovers the truth, it could change everything…

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT THE LOST LETTERS:

‘I LOVED this book!… I had to keep reading!… My heart broke.’ Mama’s Book Ramblins

‘A gorgeous debut, crackling with atmosphere and emotion.’ Lucinda Riley, bestselling author of The Love Letter, The Midnight Rose and The Seven Sisters

‘A beautiful, heart-warming, wonderfully written tale! I loved it from start to finish… A story that moved me and one that will stay with me for a very long time.’ Renita D’Silva

‘There is not one thing I did not love about this story. Right from the beginning I was drawn in… The Lost Letters is a beautiful and poignant story that has completely captured my heart… By far, this might just be my top read for the year.’ Sinfully Wicked Books, 5 stars

‘I absolutely loved this book…I got a lump in my throat at times just reading this part of the story… an emotional, heart-wrenching, beautiful and poignant read that I completely fell in love with… Have the tissues ready for this one, you may need them!’ Katie’s Book Cave, 5 stars

‘Once I got into the book I found myself becoming seriously addicted to reading it… To say that I felt as though I had been through the emotional wringer during the reading of this book is an understatement… tugged on my heartstrings.’ Ginger Book Geek

‘Had me enthralled… a thought-provoking and moving story about identity, family and friendship. With realistic and believable characters, clues to find and a mystery to solve, this will keep you entertained for hours.’ Novel Deelights

‘So heart-wrenching… what in the world would you do in that situation? There just is no good answer! A beautiful and intriguing story that will keep you turning those pages and wanting to hug your loved ones!’ Goodreads reviewer

‘What an amazing book… Couldn’t put it down and I couldn’t wait to find out what happened.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘The Lost Letters is a well told and poignant story about family secrets which impact on the future, friendship, promises, decisions and romance… vivid and heart-breaking… absolutely meticulous and totally fascinating.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘A very heart-warming read… a tear-jerker… I highly recommend it to all readers.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Lost Letters”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Titles

The Royal Game
The Royal Game
£10.99
Elly Griffiths Norfolk
Elly Griffiths Norfolk
£30.00
Letters to a Stranger
Letters to a Stranger
£10.99
The English Girl
The English Girl
£8.99
The Marsh House
The Marsh House
£9.99
The Night of the Flood
The Night of the Flood
£8.99
Queenie of Norwich
Queenie of Norwich
£8.99
Norwich in the Second World War
Norwich in the Second World War
£17.99

About The Author

Sarah Mitchell

Sarah Mitchell

Sarah grew up in Norfolk and studied law at Cambridge University which led to a career as a barrister, working mainly in the field of human rights. After nearly twenty years she was tempted off-track by a creative writing course at the Open University and fell in love with making up stories instead of constructing arguments. Three years later she completed, with distinction, an MA in Creative Writing – Prose Fiction at the UEA.

Now she lives in Norfolk again, this time with her husband and three almost-grown-up children, where she combines writing with some legal work – and thanking her enormous number of lucky stars.

By the same author

Letters to a Stranger
Letters to a Stranger
£10.99
The English Girl
The English Girl
£8.99

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.  Find out more.