The Ghost Fields

Number 7 in the Dr. Ruth Galloway series.

The Ghost Fields


In stock


A bullet-ridden body is unearthed from a buried WWII plane. Dr Ruth Galloway must discover who the victim was – and who put him there.

When DCI Harry Nelson calls Ruth Galloway in to investigate a body found inside a buried fighter plane, she quickly realizes that the skeleton couldn’t possibly be the pilot. DNA tests identify the man as Fred Blackstock, a local aristocrat who had been reported dead at sea.

Events are further complicated by a TV company that wants to make a film about Norfolk’s deserted air force bases, the so-called Ghost Fields, which have been partially converted into a pig farm run by one of the younger remaining Blackstocks.

Then human bones are found on the farm and, as the greatest storm Norfolk has seen for decades brews in the distance, another Blackstock is attacked. Can the team outrace the rising flood to find the killer?

Shortlisted for the Theakston’s Crime Novel of the Year 2015.


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Ghost Fields”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About The Author

Elly Griffiths

My name’s Elly Griffiths, except it’s not really.

“My real name is Domenica de Rosa and I’ve written four books under that name. I was born in London in 1963 and my family moved to Brighton when I was five. I loved Brighton and still do – the town, the surrounding countryside and, most of all, the sea. I went to local state schools and wrote my first book when I was a 11, a murder mystery set in Rottingdean, near the village where I still live.  At secondary school I used to write episodes of Starsky and Hutch (early fan fiction) and very much enjoyed making my readers cry.

“I did all the right things to become a writer: I read English at King’s College London and, after graduating, worked in a library, for a magazine and then as a publicity assistant at HarperCollins. I loved working in publishing and eventually became Editorial Director for children’s books at HarperCollins. All this completely put me off writing and it wasn’t until I was on maternity leave in 1998 that I wrote what would become my first published novel, The Italian Quarter.

“Three other books followed, all about Italy, families and identity. By now we had two children and my husband Andy had just given up his city job to become an archaeologist. We were on holiday in Norfolk, walking across Titchwell Marsh, when Andy mentioned that prehistoric man had thought that marshland was sacred. Because it’s neither land nor sea, but something in-between, they saw it as a kind of bridge to the afterlife. Neither land nor sea, neither life nor death. As he said these words the entire plot of The Crossing Places appeared, full formed, in my head and, walking towards me out of the mist, I saw Dr Ruth Galloway. I didn’t think that this new book was significantly different from my ‘Italy’ books but, when she read it, my agent said, ‘This is crime. You need a crime name.’

“And that’s how I became Elly Griffiths.”

Dr. Ruth Galloway Series in Order

  1. The Crossing Places (2009) ISBN 9781786481863
  2. The Janus Stone (2010) ISBN 9781786482129
  3. The House at Sea’s End (2011) ISBN 9781786482136
  4. A Room Full of Bones (2011) – awaiting reprint
  5. A Dying Fall (2012) ISBN 9781786482150
  6. The Outcast Dead (2014) ISBN 9781786482167
  7. The Ghost Fields (2015) ISBN 9781786482174
  8. The Woman in Blue (2016) ISBN 9781848663374
  9. The Chalk Pit (2017) ISBN 9781784296629
  10. The Dark Angel (2018) ISBN 9781784296667
  11. The Stone Circle (2019) ISBN 9781786487315
  12. The Lantern Men (2020) ISBN 9781787477551
  13. The Night Hawks (2021) ISBN 9781787477841
  14. The Locked Room (2022) ISBN 9781529409673

By the same author

Elly Griffiths Norfolk
Elly Griffiths Norfolk
The Last Remains - Elly Griffiths
The Locked Room by Elly Griffiths
The Locked Room - Elly Griffiths
The Night Hawks Elly Griffiths
The Night Hawks - Elly Griffiths
The Lantern Men
The Lantern Men - Elly Griffiths
The Lantern Men
The Stone Circle
The Stone Circle
The Crossing Places
The Stranger Diaries
A Room Full of Bones
The House at Sea's End
The Janus Stone

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.  Find out more.